top of page

AED 811: Avatar Selfie


My avatar selfie features two avatars in a map-like composition from my interactive profiles online- a set of Bitmojis from by current Snapchat and my old Second Life avatar that I would say was last edited in 2012. The eastern section alludes to my studies at Penn State Main where I was first introduced to Second Life by Dr. Stephen Carpenter. My feminine Second Life form is masked by a black full body suit, and my face is hidden by a fox mask accompanied with a tail. This avatar of my past represents my continual and consistent desire to think outside of societal norms and dialogues. It may be typical for some to want to flaunt attractive physical characteristics they desire through an online projection, but my thought process was different; I wanted to exist as a creature that I don't get to be in my regular life; this playful and experimental attitude is something I strive to bring into my art classroom. My username here is mstempleton and speaks to one of my animal identities. Remember Templeton the rat from Charlotte's Web? As I related to this character's journey in the book and movie, I used this username from high school through college. Upon getting my undergraduate degree, my profiles changed to evoyvodich or ellievoyvo. #normalize

This remixed digital collage represents my past and present as an individual and teacher, alluding only to my future with text. The work combines far away places I love overtop of my current landscape and location in Pittsburgh. I feature a view of Perry's Monument over Lake Erie in a heart shape centered north of Pittsburgh- my birthplace and home. I spent many summer's on South Bass Island where the monument is located; to this day, the place I stay there does not have internet and is a retreat from the technology-driven lifestyle I live of the "mainland." I remember the autonomy I had here as a child to bike anywhere I wanted to explore the island; I believe children cognitively and emotionally need this in their development of self as well as adults. Overlaid in the southwest corner, a hazy view of Half Dome from the viewpoint of Cloud's Rest at Yosemite National Park follows the river; my memory of an epic hike here with a best friend represents the arduous treck to finding my place in the world and my place as a teacher. As traveling is one of my passions, I hope my career expands my map from the state of Pennsylvania.

My Bitmoji avatar is a projection of my current self according to the pre-programmed settings of the application itself. All of the body types and facial features are set to specific sizes and cannot be adapted widely like the interfaces of Second Life. I gave myself wavy brown hair similar to what I actually have, freckles, blue eyes, and a dark outfit accompanied by a scarf. I tried to capture who I actually am including my glasses. The map can be used by my friends within Snapchat to see where I have last checked my profile, and my Bitmoji can interact live on the Snapchat photo viewer by performing time-limited actions that can be sent to friends as well as iconically (see bottom) within text messaging on the app. My Bitmoji dances atop my dog to the "Gucci Gang" filter in the far east end where my current school is located directly underneath. This landmark represents where I currently work (and dance) my heart out to better serve my students, yet I am desaturated and looking for color to fill me again.

As an art educator, I envision my future filled with autonomy for my students and myself- something I currently cannot find. I want to see my students eyes light up with passion to explore the passions in their lives. Overlaid by all of the images is a small piece of a linocut series I recently completed with my eighth graders that states, "Art brings life to life." In my remix, you can only see life, as it can not reach potential value without autonomy and passion.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page